top of page
Suche
  • Autorenbildglutenfreewanderlust

Gluten free Guide to Prague

Aktualisiert: 1. Aug. 2019


Finding gluten free food in Prague is very easy. The app Findme Glutenfree lists a lot of places with many recommendations. If you activate your location you can find the places that are the closest to you. Additionally you have many options to filter your results (pricing, other dietary needs, time, type of food). There is a premium version as well (1,99€ per year, 3 more filters) but for me personally the normal one is helpful enough.

But also without the app you will be able to find dedicated gluten-free Restaurants relatively easy. Most of the Czech know gluten and are able to help you.


First the bad part before the good (believe me the good will definitely weigh it out!


When in Prague you’ll see many (probably a thousand) candy shops. I am not too much into candy but the one I went in to really disappointed me (it is called Sweet Candy Prague and very close to Charles bridge).



At first, I was surprised by the variety reputed gluten free (they had stickers on the barrels the candies were placed in). Especially when I saw these candies looking like noodles (because I have never found a gluten free version of these). To be sure I asked one of the girls working there. She wasn’t sure so she asked her colleague. Long story short: it was not gluten free and about all the other candies labeled as gluten free they were not sure as well (cause the candies put in the barrels change on a daily basis).


So I tried to explain to them that this could end very badly for a person suffering from coeliac disease. Although they told me they could understand that they wouldn’t start removing the stickers. A real pity!


My conclusion from this experience: Always ask in order to double check and be a hundred per cent sure that the food you get is gluten free! It’s not you being mean, rude or anything else - it just is your right to ask for your needs and take care of yourself!


Enough complaning, now let’s face the good news:


1. Tricafe



This cute little artisanal café has stolen my heart. I loved the atmosphere and would have spent plenty of time there if I would have discovered it earlier. They offer various healthy treats, a lot of them gluten free. Might be a bit pricier but definitely worth the money.



I had the raw lime cake which was super delicious.


2. Maitrea



I have never struggled so long on what to eat and even drink in a restaurant like I did there. They offer a lot of dedicated gluten free and vegan options. You can even get a gluten free locally produced beer here! Everything healthy, super delicious and very affordable.



We went there twice and I would have no problem with going there on a daily basis - definitely a must-go-to when in Prague.


3. Prague Choolate


They offer hot chocolate ice cold. I don’t know how they do it but for sure this is one of the best things I’ve ever tried. They also offer a lot of chocolate coated almonds and coffee beans (some also vegan).






You can find them in Old town, right under Hotel Aurus.


4. Café Electrik



Great place in the center of Prague to have a healthy lunch or dinner. They have a little inner yard with umbrellas hanging above you. Where we crashed into the owner and spontaneously made a food shooting, I have had the vegan Buddha Bowl - very tasty!



I didn’t finish the whole plate, so they put it (plus a little extra) in a box for me. Very friendly staff - but be careful with ordering tap water or extra sauce, they might tell you it’s for free and despite charge you in the end.


5. Good Food Bakery & Coffee



Very close to Charles bridge (old town site) you can get the chimney cake experience as well. Believe me, once you see all the people eating these good smelling cakes you will want one as well. At Good Food Bakery they make it possible. They will prepare it for you separately and you can chose any filling you want (except the one with brownies). I chose the savory one with rocket and tomato.



Unfortunately they put ham and cheese in it as well although I ordered it without. So when going there rather chose a dedicated vegetarian option or be more empathic about it.



6. Bistro Monk



That was the first restaurant we tried in Prague. It is close to the astronomical clock in the old town. You can sit in- or outside on their little terrace. The menu is labeled and you’ll find lots of gluten-free options. I had the Quinoa salad with fried vegetables, dried tomatoes and avocado.



It was good but in regard to the size of the portion a bit overpriced.


7. Restaurant Pho Thien Lam


This one is not a dedicated gluten free restaurant but we went there during lunch time when I spent the day at Locus. Since I have been in Asia already I knew what tell the server what not to put in the meals (basically soy and oyster sauce) and it was relatively easy to find a few gluten free options on their menu. I have had the vegan option of the Tom Yam Soup with tofu.



So my recommendation is to talk to the server and explain him your dietary needs - he will be very helpful and look with you at the menu - but if you wanna be a hundred percent sure better go somewhere else.


Other places I have seen serving gluten free food but didn’t make to try:


For Breakfast:


Café Becher

Puro Gelato

My Raw Café

Bistro & Shop by Antonio Sandev

Jizerske Pekarny

Hotel Kings Court Prague

Cafepavlina

Babiččina spíz

Myo Hotel Caruso

La Boca

The farm

Creperie „U slepé Kočičky“

Coffeespot

Kavárna Coffeepark

Lovely Day Bistro

Mezi Srnky


For Lunch:


Little Break

Joy Burger

Nuance Restaurant

MeetBurger

Portfolio restaurant

Zebra Asian Noodle Bar

Wokin

Lokál

La Boca

Poke Haus

Yori Restaurant

Café Louvre

Momo Veg Café

Bejzment

Kaiser Franz Beer & Burger

Restaurant Novy Svet

T. G. I. Friday‘s

Vietnamese Restaurant Dua

Lovely Day Bistro

Palatino

Allison Risotteria Italiana

Hadog

Svejik Restaurant U Karla

LoVeg

Kampa Park

Vapiano

Mc Donalds


Supermarket:

I recommend going to Tesco if you wanna cook for yourself or have a little, cheap snack. The Tesco you can find in Prague is huge and you’ll find a lot of gluten free and vegan products.




You see, the list is long, starving in Prague due to coeliac disease is impossible. So just go and enjoy!

59 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen
bottom of page