top of page
Suche
  • Autorenbildglutenfreewanderlust

Gluten free Guide to Sevilla



Sevilla is a wonderful city. After being in Budapest and Portugal it feels like a mixture of both. The beautiful, well restored buildings like in Budapest and all the beautiful colors, some tiles and happy atmosphere like in Portugal. For me, probably the perfect mix. It is a historic city with an interesting background worth to further seek in.



But besides from that it is also a paradise for coeliacs. Almost every restaurant labels their menu with common dietary signs (vegetarian (some do vegan), lactose, peanuts and gluten of course). Even if you don’t find labels you can just ask the waiters - almost all of them are aware of gluten free dietary and it might even happen that they offer you gluten free bread (although it’s not written anywhere) - just like it happened to me yesterday at El Disparate.


The more challenging task though is to find vegan options (that are also gluten free). Most of the Tapas contain meat or fish.


Milk Away Healthy Take away


This place focuses on sustainability and healthy foods. It is great for breakfast, a healthy snack or an early dinner. They offer gluten free sandwiches, açaí bowls, salads and porridge. You can also create your own bowls if you want to.



Not all of the dishes on the menu are vegan but almost everything is available as a vegan or gluten free option - so they will replace it for you. It is also relatively cheap compared to other places in Sevilla.


I have had the matcha latte with almond milk and an avo sandwich with olive oil and salt - both very good but I was a bit disappointed when it comes to the bread. It was the usual multi corn bread from Schär that you can get in every super market.



Don’t ask me why but I expected self-made bread. They also sell some healthy treats like bars, chocolate coated nuts and different nut butters for takeaway.


Grazie Mille


Very close by you can find this little ice cream shop. Almost every flavor is glutenfree and the fruit and chocolate sorbet is vegan as well. Guess for what I went - chocolate, of course!



Too good to be true.


Loco Polo


Sevilla is so hot, you won’t survive without ice cream. So why not go to Loco Polo and chose between many, many variations of delicious popsicles. Some of them are water other milk based (so depends on you if you decide for the vegan option or not).



Although they don’t label it as gluten free only two of the options were not gluten free (cheese cake and Oreo). They even have very fancy flavors like Pina Colada, Mojito, Ferrero. I had Coconut and loved it! What a great late night treat.


Bolas



Yep, I had ice cream every single day in Seville. Bolas also had very good vegan and gluten free options. Besides from the usual fruit flavors also they have orange ice cream with cinnamon (and something else I didn’t really understand). So I tried that one plus coconut - soooo good!


Habanita



This restaurant is a bit hidden but also very close to Milk away and Grazie Mille. Their menu is very creative, offering lots of gluten free options on a separate page and labeling vegetarian and vegan options as well. Following the recommendation of the waiter I ordered the red pepper gratin with vegan cheese on top.



Regarding the price (10,50€) and my empty stomach I expected a big and filling plate. Unfortunately I got disappointed - it was delicious but not worth the price. Next time I would rather go a few more steps to Milk away or try one of their exotic dishes (banana balls in tomato sauce or fried Yucca).


Places I haven’t tried myself but would recommend


Gusto


Right in the centre by the cathedral you will find Gusto. It is a slow food restaurant offering gluten free and vegan options that are prepared with ingredients from organic farms. It’s just a little more expensive than the surrounding restaurants and you can be sure it’s good quality food.


Always remember you only have this one body - so take care and invest in the food you nourish it with.


Arte y Sabor


A Tapas Bar the tour guide of the free walking tour recommended to me. It is close to the Alameda de Hercules where it mostly gets busy by night when all the locals go out for tapas and enjoy the nightlife. They label vegetarian and vegan options on their menu - and like I told you in the beginning, it’s hard to find a place offering vegan and vegetarian tapas besides from the ones with meat and fish. Perfect if you’re going out with people who wanna have meat or fish for dinner, this place serves it all. Thumbs up!


Coq & Roll Market


A little fast food restaurant and shop with organic products. Unfortunately it was closed when I passed by on my last day so I didn’t make to try it myself but already from the outside I felt very attached to it. I totally believed their banner outside: We take care of you!


Verde Limon


A little Stall in a market hall selling ecological Andalusian products.


Groceries


Carrefour Express



Even these little super markets have a whole shelf stuffed with gluten free bread, cookies, bars, pasta, flour and oats. Most of the times you can find the bio products right next to it. When everything else (local grocery stores like the fruiterias or bio shops) is closed probably the best option to grab some snacks.


Mas and SuperSol


Yep, I kinda fell in the super market trap. When I went to the super markets I sometimes ended up not buying the organic and regional products but for example the hummus with additives (E..., E...,) or these sweets I have never found gluten free before (and my honest opinion about them: Horrible! It’s like you’re tasting every chemical it’s made of). Not only bad for the environment but also for your own health.



I mean there is nothing wrong with buying some groceries in the super market (they are offering a lot of gluten free organic products) you don’t have the chance to get somewhere else:




But at the same time it can be very tempting to grab the cheaper (though most of the times less good for your health and environment) product if it’s right next to the „better“ ones.


So depending on your consciousness and phase you’re currently in to change your behavior towards a more sustainable and healthy lifestyle rather avoid going to the supermarkets or it might happen to you like it happened to me, being so tempted to go for the very cheap groceries forgetting about the guiding principles of the big companies producing and standing behind.


The side I actually don’t wanna support anymore - everything in plastic, mostly imported, bad for our environment and not fairly produced - meaning that somewhere else people have to suffer for me, as a privileged person, being able to purchase them.


Additionally it stopped me from trying the small local restaurants and shops that actually depend on our support to be able to compete with these big companies that are on the global market today.

So I believe in my purchasing power and focus again on supporting the Fruiterias, bio shops and local restaurants!

95 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen
bottom of page