top of page
Suche
  • Autorenbildglutenfreewanderlust

Gluten free Guide to Lagos


High rocks, beautiful beaches and a vibrant center - the perfect place to spend your holidays.



Although it is very touristic and crowded in high season, I enjoyed being in a place with many happy people enjoying their vacation time. And the good thing about touristic spots is that there is always something going on - as if the beautiful landscape wasn’t already entertaining enough.




I really enjoyed wandering on the rocks or through the cold water down at the beach while taking thousands of pictures of the beautiful area surrounding me. Sometimes I even played being a monkey, finding myself climbing in trees and picking some figs - yummy!


Finding gluten free restaurants turned out to be very easy as well. Just when I arrived and walked to my hostel I passed by a pizzeria offering gluten free pizza option, a breakfast place with vegan and gluten free options and a little bakery with vegan and gluten and sugar free cakes.


Sweet Home Lagos


Very close to the bus station is this little bakery. Apart from healthy detox smoothies and Sandwiches (not gluten free), you can treat yourself here with a gluten free vanilla cheese cake or brownie (not vegan) or for the healthier option with a vegan and sugar free Banoffi Cake or Energy ball.



It depends on your luck and how busy it was the day before whether all or only some of the options I mentioned are available.

I really wanted to try the Banoffi cake but unfortunately it was not available the day I was there - so instead, I had the energy ball which was very good as well - very sweet and with a nice flavour of coco.


Crema & Cioccolate


When I walked through the streets in Lagos by night (even after 10pm most of the shops and restaurants would be open) I was lucky to stumble upon this Gelateria. Even offering a gluten free cone there was no way I could leave without having ice cream in my hand.



Although they also offered also vegan options (the fruit sorbets) I chose Pistachio and Carob (Specialty for that region). I also tried a bit of the Raffaelo - all of them were very delicious! Also the cone was very good - sweet and crispy how it’s supposed to be. The perfect ending for a long day.


London Tiger Coffee


This was pure chance. When I was looking for a place I could get something proper for my bus ride dinner I stumbled upon this cute café. Although there were no signs I trusted my intuition and went in. In the welcoming atmosphere my feeling was confirmed.


Besides from the delicious lentil soup I had, they offer gluten free sandwiches (not vegan because they would put salmon or cheese with tomatoes on it), Granola, Granola bars (both vegan) and a delicious almond orange cake - probably the juiciest cake I have ever tried!



Highly recommend going there when in Lagos!


Mercado Municipal de Lagos


On the first floor of this building you can find a little market with stalls selling regional artisanal products (e.g. fruits, vegetables, cakes, oils, wines). And the best: A stall selling gluten free and vegan bread every Wednesday! Besides from that, you can order gluten free pizzas, quiches, cakes and muffins - some also vegan (cheesecake, pizza, panna cotta and blueberry cake).



I tried brown sugar coated almonds with ginger (soo good!) and gluten and dairy free cookies (not vegan). The owner is very friendly and I really enjoyed talking to her. Thanks so much!


Other restaurants offering gluten free options but haven’t tried myself:


Pizzeria Mamma Mia


You remember the pizzeria I was talking about in the beginning - that’s the one. Like the name reveals you can get gluten free pizzas here. It will be a bit more expensive than the usual ones but still reasonable priced (from 8€).


Abigails Café


If you wanna go somewhere for brunch this place might be good for you. They offer gluten free, vegan and vegetarian options.


Crema di Gelato Lagos


Just on the other side of the street where London Tiger Coffee is you can find this gelateria. While I was passing by I saw that they also have gluten free cones so pretty sure they have gluten free ice cream as well.


Natur‘all - Fresh Food Lovers


I just shortly stepped into this fast food restaurant on my way to the hostel. Well they do not really have gluten free lunch options (warm) but there is a little fridge in the entrance where you can find some snacks, salads and breakfast bowls with labels whether it contains gluten or not.

79 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen
bottom of page